An All-Round Great Day

Parsons on Top for Club Championship

The IOM Clay Pigeon Shooting Club held their Club all-round Championship kindly sponsored by Manx Petroleum with 22 competitors taking part in dull but dry conditions. The championship is held over one round of all the disciplines shot in the summer leagues.

The leader after the first two disciplines, English Skeet and DTL was Mark Riley with 145 points, in second place on 143 was John Moore with Jeff Corkill in third place on 140, Neil Parsons was fourth on 139 followed by Stan Cross in fifth place on 138 and making up the top six was Peter Kelly on 137.

The next two disciplines were ABT and Olympic Skeet saw John Moore take the lead with 275 points seven ahead of Neil Parsons in second place on 268 with Mark Riley third on 262. In fourth place was Jeff Corkill on 254 followed by Brian Faragher in fifth on 250 and making up the top six was Peter Kelly on 248.

The final discipline was English Sporting which was shot in reverse order. In the ladies section Nicky Barnett was second on 204 but taking the ladies title with 208 points was junior Allana Wade. Third in the junior section was David Cowin on 239 with Joe Faragher taking second place on 260 but retaining his junior title with 313 points was Michael Cross. In C class David Cowin was the winner with Allana Wade taking second place and Orry Watterson taking third place.

In B class Michael Cross was the winner on 313 with Brian Faragher taking second on 310 followed by Jeff Corkill in third place on 299. In A class Mark Riley was third on 304 with Peter Kelly taking second place on 311, in first place on 326 and also taking the veterans championship was John Moore but top of the class taking the Club All Round Championship and the senior championship with 328 points was Neil Parsons.

All-round Winners: J Faragher (J), B Faragher, A Wade (J), M Cross (J), J Corkill, J Moore, M Riley, N Parsons, D Cowin (J), O Watterson, A Wade (L), P Kelly



  • N Parsons (69 ES, 70 DTL, 57 OS, 75 ABT, 60 SPT = 328)

A Class

  1. J Moore (75, 68, 57, 75, 51 = 326)
  2. P Kelly (66, 71, 45, 66, 63 = 311)
  3. M Riley (72, 73, 48, 69, 42 = 304)

B Class

  1. M Cross (J) (66, 64, 60, 54, 69 = 313)
  2. B Faragher (66, 64, 60, 60, 60 = 310)
  3. J Corkill (75, 65, 57, 57, 45 = 299)

C Class

  1. D Cowin (J) (60, 59, 30, 42, 48 = 239)
  2. All Wade (J) (L) (63, 49, 30, 30, 36 = 208)
  3. O Watterson (45, 52, 27, 51, 30 = 205)


  1. J Moore & B Faragher (636)
  2. N Parsons & M Riley (632)
  3. M Cross & J Corkill (612)


  • A Wade (208)


  • M Cross 313


  • J Moore 326


  • N Parsons 328

Next week is the fourth rounds of the Tower Insurance DTL in the morning and the fourth rounds of the Manx Petroleum Olympic Skeet and the Sadler Agricultural Supplies ABT Leagues in the afternoon.

Summer 2021 underway with English Skeet and MCTSA selection shoots

Sport Trap Selection Shoot

The IOM Clay Pigeon shooting club hosted a 100 bird Sport Trap selection shoot at Meary Veg, Santon, with 21 competitors taking part in near ideal conditions.

The leader at the half way stage was Alan Wade with 46 points, in equal second place on 43 were Nigel Moffatt, Ben Richards, and Alan Kinrade followed by the first junior Michael Cross on 42. Making up the top six were Neil Parsons and Stan Cross, each on 39.

After a short break to change the schemes on the layouts Dave Corlett finished in sixth place on 77 with Michael Cross taking fifth overall as well as leading junior on 80. We then had a three way tie for overall second place on 81 points between Alan Wade, Ben Richards and Nigel Moffatt, but the convincing winner five points ahead of everyone else on 86 points was Alan Kinrade – well shot Alan!



  1. A Kinrade (20, 23, 21, 22 = 86)
  2. N Moffatt (19, 24, 19, 19 = 81)
    B Richards (20, 23, 19, 19 = 81)
    A Wade (23, 23, 14, 21 = 81)
  3. M Cross (J) (23, 19, 19, 19 = 80)
  4. D Corlett (15, 22, 20, 20 = 77)


  1. M Cross (J) (80)
  2. J Faragher (J) (66)
  3. A Wade (J) (59)


  1. Lady C Moffatt (L) (64)
  2. N Barnett (L) (57)

Colin Bowen Memorial 100 English Skeet

On Bank Holiday Monday the first round of the Colin Bowen Memorial English skeet was held, and what a difference in the weather with driving rain and at times hail and sleet greeting the 14 hardy shooters taking to the stands.

The leader after the first round was B class shooter Chris Workman with 21. In equal second place on 20 were Rachael Bowen Matthews and Stan Cross, with his new gun, and Brian Faragher. Dave Corlett was in fifth place on 19 and making up the top six were Jeff Corkill and John Moore on 18.

With the weather not improving for the second round junior Zach Bellhouse finished in second place in C class on 21 points, with Nicky Barnett taking C class with 30 points. Will Rand was in third place in B class with 31 points with Brian Faragher and Chris Workman in equal first place with 40 points.

In A class we had a three way for first place on 41 points between Stan Cross, Rachael Bowen Matthews and Dave Corlett who had the best round of the day with 22 in his second.

English Skeet Winners: W Rand, N Barnett (L), R Bowen Matthews (L), S Cross, Z Bellhouse (J), D Corlett, B Faragher, C Workman


A Class

  1. 1st D Corlett (41)
    S Cross (41)
    R Bowen Matthews (L) (41)

B Class

  1. B Faragher (40)
    C Workman (40)
  2. W Rand (31)

C Class

  1. N Barnett (L) (30)
  2. Z Bellhouse (J) (21)

Next week is the IOM English skeet Championship sponsored by Sadler Agricultural Supplies over 100 targets, entries close at 10am prompt

Entries are also now open for the Hospice shoot on Saturday June 26th which can be done on line at, non shooters/members most welcome.

IOM Sport Trap Championship

The IOM Sport Trap Championship was held at Meary Veg, Santon, with 25
competitors taking part in dry sunny conditions.

The leader at the half way stage was Paul Mihailovits with 42 points with Jack Kneen and Nigel Moffatt in equal second place on 40, followed by Dave Corlett in fourth place on 38, Stan Cross and Alan Kinrade were in equal fifth place on 37.

Both layouts were altered to give four completely different sets of targets for the second half of the competition. When all the scores were collated we saw Mark Riley winning C class with 71 points, Dave Corlett was first in B class with 74 points, and Alan Wade took A class with 76 .

In the junior section David Cowin was third on 58 with Arran Wade taking second place on 64 but the junior winner with 69 points was Michael Cross. Third overall was Jack Kneen with 78 points, Marty Kneen was second on 79 but the new IOM Sport Trap Champion for 2020 with the only score in the eighties was Paul Mihailovits with 82 points – well done Paul!

Next week is the next round of the Colin Bowen English skeet league with
entries closing at 10:00 on the day.